Skip to main content

The Hindemith Prize 2022

Posted on

It has been announced that Hannah will receive the 2022 Hindemith Prize for music composition. It is awarded to outstanding composers as part of the Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival. 

"Hannah Kendall displays enormous compositional diversity, ranging from classical heritage to experimental ideas. The richness of sound she creates with seemingly playful ease, her clear structure, energy and lack of compromise have inspired us unreservedly. I am very pleased that Hannah Kendall will enrich the SHMF next summer as a Hindemith Prize winner." Dr. Christian Kuhnt, artistic director of the Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival.

Recent prizewinners include Matthias Pintscher (2000), Thomas Adès (2001), Jörg Widmann (2002), Lera Auerbach (2005), Anna Clyne (2016), Samy Moussa (2017), SJ Hanke (2020) and Mithatcan Öcal (2021).

Hannah is absolutely delighted.

Please see here for more information. 


















































More News items: